In Memoriam Prof. Dr. Wilhelm Keim


December 1, 1934 - September 30, 2018

  Prof. Keim Copyright: © ITMC

Prof. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Wilhelm Keim held the Chair of Technical Chemistry and Petrochemistry at RWTH Aachen University between 1973 and 2000. He has shaped the field of catalysis on a national and international level in his outstanding career. His research aimed at fundamental improvements of chemical processes on basis of the molecular principles of organometallic catalysis. He regarded the transfer of knowledge into application as an important dimension of basic science and demonstrated this successfully as one of the inventors of the Shell Higher Olefin Process (SHOP) and as world-leading expert on C1-chemistry. His pioneering work on multiphase catalysis, on ionic liquids in catalysis, and on catalytic conversion of carbon dioxide has opened many doors for subsequent generations. He has been a passionate mentor and provided continuing support for young academics and future industrial leaders.

The research achievements of Prof. Keim and his service to the scientific community have been widely recognized. He has been awarded the DECHEMA-Medal, the Carl-Engler-Medal, and the Alwin-Mittasch-Prize. Honors include the Honorary Doctorate from the Université de Lille, Membership in the Russian Academy of Sciences, as well as Honorary Memberships in the Deutsche Gesellschaft für Chemische Technik und Biotechnologie (DECHEMA), Deutsche Gesellschaft für Erdöl, Erdgas und Kohle (DGMK) and Gesellschaft Deutscher Chemiker (GDCh).

The Institut für Technische und Makromolekulare Chemie is indebted to Prof. Keim in deepest respect. His colleagues will miss him as a source of advice and wisdom, the young generation has lost a great mentor. The co-workers of the institute, for whom he had always been accessible for professional and private advice, will keep him in grateful memory.

We convey our sincere condolences to his beloved wife and family, who were his firm base and true home throughout his life.

On behalf of the Members of ITMC

Prof. Dr. Walter Leitner (Lehrstuhl für Technische Chemie und Petrolchemie)
Prof. Dr. Regina Palkovits (Geschäftsführende Direktorin des ITMC)